Halloween Design Contest Pieces

Halloween pieces

A little while ago, when I was talking about my goals for fall, I mentioned working on a contest piece with a Halloween theme. Well, both K and I made pieces that we’re very proud of, and it’s our pleasure to share them with you.

Arachne

Meet Arachne, K’s piece. Personally, I’m in love with the piece, in spite of (or maybe because of) those hand-made spiders giving me the heebie-jeebies! And straight from the horse’s mouth, here’s what K has to say about her piece:

“These earrings were inspired by the Black Widow spider, and by the story of Arachne (Greco-Roman mythology). While the idea started out as just a pair of spooky spider earrings, it evolved into something that represents the creative, talented, and bold women that we all are, in a fun Halloween way!”

I love the story of Arachne, and have always felt a sneaking sympathy for her confidence-bordering-on-arrogance in her weaving skills. When you’re just that good, you ought to own it. Regardless of bruised egos the Gods might have. After all, They wouldn’t have given us gifts if They didn’t intend for us to use them, would they? And continuing with K’s theme, I’d like to see more women owning their talents and gifts, rather than feeling slightly apologetic about their greatness.

End of mini-rant.

Bound-by-the-night_Amrita Madhusudan

My piece is called Bound by the Night. I went back to the roots of Halloween, to Samhain – the one night of the year when the veil between worlds is thinnest. I wanted to create a piece that embodied the eeriness of that night, and the inexplicable. I chose to use the owl as the focus for the ring, because the owl as a spirit guide represents wisdom and hidden knowledge. The bangle is the night sky with different guiding stars. I used chain extensively to indicate the chains that ghosts are typically said to rattle, but also the ones we bear, knowingly or unknowingly.

Honestly, I’m a little in love with my piece, too, even if it’s not exactly what I had in mind. But I love how much time and effort we both put in, and I’m thrilled to share with you that we were both finalists in the contest, and with a lot of love and support from our friends on Facebook, my piece won the domestic (U.S.A) section of the contest, and K’s was beaten by a narrow margin to a detailed soutache-pendant in the International section. Nevertheless, we have a $100 gift voucher to share, and such a great experience.  We’re looking forward to trying new things like this more often.

Happy Halloween, all!

*Ammu*

Leave a Reply

