Ladybug Brights ~ 10/03/2014 – 14/03/2014

Holi’s here! I have to admit I dread the thought of random strangers smearing coloured powder on my face or throwing eggs at me. It’s never happened to me  – touch wood – but it does happen to people, and just the thought of it gives me the heebie-jeebies. But it’s such a well-loved festival here in India that I couldn’t not dedicate a PwP to it.

Holi is celebrated to mark the beginning of Spring. I looked very long and very hard for a spring-themed colour palette. Flowers, flowers everywhere. I’m not a huge fan of flowers either! Unless they’re lilies or orchids. Speaking of which, we have a new addition to our family – Melvin. He’s a beautiful orchid plant. I won’t get into how we decided to call him Melvin, but I will say that the palette I finally found is a nice tribute to Melvin and his happy yellowness. The picture isn’t very obviously flowery, and there’s a ladybug! Of course I couldn’t resist.

LadyBugBrights

Photo courtesy: design-seeds.com

I wanted to keep with the flower theme, and decided to go with a couple of leaf chandeliers. I looked through my beads and settled on some Czech Fire Polish (most of which were donated to me by A when she shifted base to San Diego; aren’t older sisters just awesome!) and Swarovski.

This isn't the best picture - the lighting is all wrong. But this piece was put together last minute this morning. At 5 am. Not a lot of good natural light.

This isn’t the best picture – the lighting is all wrong. But this piece was put together last minute this morning. At 5 am. Not a lot of good natural light.

Here they are – my happy Springy earrings. As I said, this was so last minute that I had the time to make just one earring! I’m now eagerly waiting to get back home from work this evening and finish the other!

The colours in this photo are much more accurate!

The colours here aren’t too great either. I shall upload a better picture once I’m done with the other earring!

Happy Spring to you! 🙂

~Kirtana

Leave a Reply

