Celebrating Women – PwP for 02.03.14 – 07.03.14

Swatch

I wish I knew who to credit for this beautiful image. If you are the owner of this image, please let me know so I can credit you properly, and thank you for the source of my inspiration!

It’s been ages since I made any jewellery. I think the last thing I did was to make thank-you earrings for the girls at my bachelorette – which, in case you were wondering, was fabulous – thanks again, K! Since we resumed blogging, and my visit to Michael’s, I’ve been dying to make something. But maybe you’ve experienced the feeling of not quite knowing where to begin when you get back to something after a considerable break. I’ve been having serious starting trouble, which is compounded by the fact that our house here doesn’t have a good space where I can work – I really don’t want to start using the bed again!

But then I went back to our Color Combo Challenge group page on FB, and I saw it – this week’s inspiration. I fell in love with this picture at once. Anyone who’s been following our blog for a while knows I love rainbow colour schemes, and I loved the layering and gradations in this image. And then somewhere in the recesses of my mind, a bell rang. March 8th is International Women’s Day. Somehow this all seemed meant to be!

There are a lot of people who insist that there is no real need for select days to celebrate different things. We should celebrate these wonderful people and events all the time, and not just on designated days. I completely agree with that sentiment, but I also say that there is nothing wrong with special days that remind us, in this whirlwind of busyness, to take the time to be thankful for people in your life. And my earrings this week were inspired by, and are dedicated to, the very special women in my life. From my mum, who is my best friend, to K, the best sister and business partner in the world, to all the other strong, beautiful, inspiring women it is my privilege to know – I just want to say thank you. You are all so dear to me, and there’s no way I could be who I am without you lovely ladies.

Without further ado – my very first piece of jewellery made in my new home. And yes, on the bed. Again.

1- Layout

Since there were so many colours in the swatch, I used my two-toned Czech fire polish beads to double the impact with fewer beads. While laying out the beads, I knew exactly what I wanted to make – a triskele-inspired pair of danglers. The question was, could I actually do it? I’ve never done anything of the kind.

2- Design

A triskele is supposed to represent feminine strength – in the aspects of the Maiden, Mother and Crone. If I ever get a tattoo one day, that’s what I’ll get! I ran through a lot of options, trying to integrate spirals into the piece, but in the end, I went for simplicity.

3- First earring

I added one spiral, a sort of hat-doff, and that Spirit charm is the sweetest thing. I love that that has movement while the rest of the piece is one unit. Before I get completely lost on a strange metaphysical plane, I present to you my finished earrings!

4- Both earrings

Just so you can see the two colours in every bead!

Just so you can see the two colours in every bead!

So, I’d like to wish all the women reading this a very happy Women’s Day. Be good to each other, and most importantly, be good to yourselves.

*Ammu*

2 thoughts on “Celebrating Women – PwP for 02.03.14 – 07.03.14

Leave a Reply

