Getting your bling on with Swarovski Elements

Swarovski elements beads - of all shapes, sizes and colours. (Image courtesy the Beadaholique blog)

Swarovski Elements beads – of all shapes, sizes and colours.
(Image courtesy the Beadaholique blog)

I’ve already talked about how much I love beads that shine when I raved about Czech Fire Polish beads.  However, no bead shines quite like a well-cut crystal, and all Swarovski Elements crystals are perfectly cut, and come in myriad hues that will delight anyone.  Swarovski Elements are “the finest crystal elements manufactured by Swarovksi” – that’s a quote I’ve taken from their website.

Between K and me, I think Swarovski Elements are probably the most frequently used beads in our jewellery. And there are several good reasons for that. Firstly, like I mentioned, their shine is fabulous. Good crystals are faceted to give you maximum brilliance, and when you talk about crystals, the foremost expert that comes to mind is Swarovski. I think you get the best value for money with these beads.

One of K's rings with opaque and transparent Swarovski crystals

One of K’s rings with opaque and transparent Swarovski crystals

Secondly, the variety is incredible! You can get pretty much anything you want, in any size and colour you want. You want round crystals? They have them. Looking for exotic colours like greige and astral pink (one of K’s favourites!)? You’re looking in the right place. Interested in rings, butterflies, clovers and fish? They’ve got you covered. I sometimes like to look for unusual things, just for the sheer pleasure of actually finding that they have what I’m looking for! Even, or especially, if i have no idea what I’ll do with such beads!

A few of the assorted Swarovski Elements shapes I own - butterflies, flowers, fish, leaves and rings.

A few of the assorted Swarovski Elements shapes I own – butterflies, flowers, fish, leaves and rings.

Out of the vast variety, if pressed to pick our favourite, it would probably be bicones. Bicones, as the name suggests, are beads that look like two cones placed base-to-base. They add texture and incredible sparkle to jewellery, more so than traditional round crystals. You can get them as normal beads, which you can string, and as pendants or drops, which make for the most beautiful dangles. Swarovski also has a new type of crystal, called the Xilion bead. Here, they’ve used the latest technology to create both large and small facets on the same bead, which increases the brilliance of the bead. And I really did not think that was possible! The Xilion beads are just gorgeous!

A few of my beads, in different sizes

A few of my beads, in different sizes

Lastly, but possibly most importantly, good crystals add class to any piece of jewellery. If they’re well-cut, they have no sharp ends or extra bits that will snag against a wearer’s skin and hair, and this is very important to us. No one likes to wear a piece of jewellery that is uncomfortably scratchy, and while we all tend to suffer a bit, in the name of beauty, we prefer to offer painless adornments! And really, no words of mine can do enough justice to how beautiful these beads look in pieces. I speak from experience when I say that wearing beautiful jewellery is a huge boost to one’s spirits. If you’re lucky enough to own jewellery made by Swarovski, you know what I’m talking about. Their Elements are no less spectacular.

A few of my Swarovski bicones, in my favourite rainbow arrangement.

A few of my Swarovski bicones, in my favourite rainbow arrangement.

I’ll leave you with a sneak preview of the piece I’m currently working on. It’s based on Swarovski keystone beads (one of my latest obsessions), bicones, and of course, since it’s me, Czech Fire Polish beads! Tell me what you think!

My current work-in-progress: The pendant of a necklace made with Swarovski aquamarine keystone beads, purple bicones, and bicoloured Czech Fire Polish beads.

My current work-in-progress: The pendant of a necklace made with Swarovski aquamarine keystone beads, purple bicones, and bicoloured Czech Fire Polish beads.

*Ammu* 

Leave a Reply

