Snug as a ‘Bug!

Sometime last year, I got bitten by a bug. The I-MUST-have-that bug. You guys will have figured out by now that I am particularly susceptible to such attacks, especially around beads and jewellery making supplies. It also strikes me when I’m passing by a book store, or browsing on Amazon. But this was something else entirely… well, random!

I’m a sucker for all kinds of stationery, and I have a draw full of paper and blank notebooks (which I should really start using), and as a kid, I would go around giving people hand-made cards for every possible occasion. But somewhere along the way, possibly with the realisation that my drawing skills were somewhat impaired, I stopped making cards. And then, last year I discovered embossing! And I was suddenly struck with all the possibilities this would open up for me, as a lover of card-making without the requisite drawing skills!

So, I sat and looked at various models online. Compared them on Amazon. And on Youtube. And on different craft review blog posts (bless them all!). And came to the conclusion that as I was a novice, I should pick something (a) I could use easily and (b) I couldn’t break in a week, because some of the models out there are extremely fancy, digital machines!

My Cuttlebug with its plates and an embossing folder. You can see the pretty paisley design on the orange card stock.

My Cuttlebug with its plates and an embossing folder. You can see the pretty paisley design on the orange card stock.

I settled on the Cuttlebug V2. And promptly went out and bought replacement plates, embossing folders, embossing powder and ink even before I bought my embossing machine! When the machine finally arrived, it arrived nestled in a box in another box twice the size of the first. A little intimidating, to say the least! The blurb on Amazon calls the machine, “light-weight and portable”, and it is portable, but it’s heavier than it looks!

The 'Simple Flowers' embossing folder I got with my 'bug.

The ‘Simple Flowers’ embossing folder I got with my ‘bug.

But it works like a dream. And the very first couple of papers I embossed came out beautifully! I am totally hooked, and now want to emboss every single thing that will stay still long enough for me to send it through the machine!

Fancy flourishes

Fancy flourishes

The entire principle is very simple – you place your paper in between your embossing folder of choice, and then sandwich the folder between glass plates, and send the entire thing through the machine. With the pressure, the design on your embossing folder gets transferred to your paper, and the result, my friends, is glorious!

Yes, I love paisley so much that I have three embossing folders that are paisley prints! And I'd like some more!

Yes, I love paisley so much that I have three embossing folders that are paisley prints! And I’d like some more!

I’ll leave you with something I plan to try very soon. Will post my version as soon as it’s ready!

*Ammu*

2 thoughts on “Snug as a ‘Bug!

  1. I know what you mean by the β€œI – MUST- have that” bug you are talking about! This a fabulous addition to your things! I love it. feel like playing with it!! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

