Cupcakes! 02.09.13-06.09.13

For those of you who have been following us on our Facebook page, our Playing with Palettes section isn’t new – and given how much we talk about it, it should be no surprise we’ve chosen to feature them on our blog! For those who are new, this is something relatively new for us, too! The idea is simple: we pick a particular colour palette – usually sourced from this most awesome website, or this fabulous group– and make a piece of jewellery using beads or cords in those colours. This is often quite a challenge for us, because the combinations aren’t always colours we would think to put together! However, I think that’s the best part of this little exercise – the way it pushes us to do something different. Left to ourselves, K and I would go on making pieces in shades of green (or blue)! So, here is our first PwP for the blog. Let me know what you think!

Photo courtesy: design-seeds.com

This palette made me really hungry! And had me wondering what flavour that pink frosting would be…  Anyway, coming back to the jewellery, my first step is usually to lay out a few of all the beads I have that match a palette. Here I used, from left to right, a Swarovski flower pendant, Swarovski Indian-pink bicones, Czech fire-polish glass, Jasper, chocolate Jasper stick beads, pale pink square glass.

Once I have the beads together, I then figure out what I want to do with them, and how I want to combine them. Often, what happens when with me when I work on a PwP is that my final piece doesn’t have the same proportions of colour as the picture – which leads to a slight feeling of disconnect. But I guess that doesn’t matter, because the point is to use all the colours, and not to create a jewellery-version of the picture!

You can see my layout above. Since I planned to use the flower pendant as the focal point of a bracelet, I wanted the whole thing to be reminiscent of a branch with flowers. I chose an engraved toggle clasp to use, and beautiful twig connectors. I was really happy with this layout, but unfortunately, the beads refused to cooperate with me! The connectors kept flipping the wrong way up and the bicones wouldn’t lie correctly. So, it was back to the drawing board. I fell back on my general standby when things aren’t working – make a pair of earrings!

That’s more or less my plan for the earrings. Here, I managed to use both the flower and the bicones in ways that suited their shapes, and didn’t disrupt the flow of the piece. Also, the chocolate jasper was just not working, and so I chose small tiger’s-eye beads. Perfect!

Here is one earring, almost fully assembled. The flower and the bicone work so beautifully as a dangle, adding light and movement to the earrings.

 

There you have it – my finished product! Not at all cupcake-y, but still so pretty!

So, that was it for this week! If you have any suggestions for future PwPs, just let us know! We’re always happy to experiment!

Have a great weekend, everybody!

*Ammu*

Leave a Reply

