Cords, and Beads, and Wire, Oh my!

My love affair with MicroMacramé and jewellery making started out as pretty much an accident. I remember being gifted a book on beaded jewellery many years ago, but it just didn’t speak to me. So I passed it on to my sister, and I’m guessing that’s where her story began. But I went through the next few years of my life without a single creative impulse in my body, until I found myself out of college with a lot of free mind space to think about what would really make me happy and a lot of time on my hands to do it. And one fine day I stumbled upon a blobby painting of The Beatles, and I decided to try my hand at replicating it. And voila! There began my love for blobby painting, and I went on a painting spree, painting blobby Bob Dylans, Chris Martins, Robert Plants, Simon-and-Garfunkels and Beatles all over the place. I even painted them on a strip of wall in my room. I loved the calm it brought me, and I loved that I could actually focus my attention on one thing with such dedication.

My sister, meanwhile, was in Zurich making beautiful beaded jewellery, and we had friends telling us that we should sell our stuff – her jewellery any my paintings. And I was quite apprehensive to begin with, because my paintings were so close to my heart and I couldn’t imagine selling them. Of course, I had no problems giving them away for free, but that’s a different story.

So while I was mulling over the idea of possibly selling my paintings, my sister’s jewellery inspired me to try my hand at making simple beaded earrings. And I found that I quite liked it. But I wanted to do something a little different from what she was doing, since she was already so good at it. So I visited my huge stationery and art supply cupboard to explore my options. And that’s when I saw them. You know those embroidery threads they sell with the Anchor Stitch Kits that we had to buy for SUPW class in school? Except we kept buying the thread long after school, simply because some of the colours we came across were just so pretty and of course we would use them ‘someday’. So I looked at them, sitting there collecting dust, and I thought “Hey! Let me go see what I can finally make from these gorgeous little things”. And that’s when I found myself making Barnacle Knot earrings, which looked pretty cute, if I say so myself. So I decided to experiment, and added beads, and that’s when I was hooked, and that’s where my journey with MicroMacramé began.

A lot of people might think it’s such a bother to sit with loads of cords and painstakingly knot them over and over again, but I absolutely enjoy it! And recently, I’ve started adding wire to my macramé and I’m loving the outcome!

So that’s my story, and I’m really excited to see what new learning each day brings!

~Kirtana

Leave a Reply

